
The evidence behind every listing.
This page is the rulebook behind every rating on NiceYiwu. If a review ever breaks one of these rules, tell us and we will fix it.
— Justin, Founder, NiceYiwu · based in Yiwu
Public-source verified · in-person visits rolling out
Honest about the stage we are at: every card on this site today is built from public sources, and none has been visited by us yet.
Four commitments you can hold us to
These are policy, decided now, not facts we are still checking.
Public-source prices now; dated receipts after future visits
- Current restaurant and hotel prices come from public listings or visitor reports, with the source and available date shown. They are not our own receipts.
- After a future in-person visit, a price labelled “what we paid” will show the receipt total per person and the visit date. Until then, keep the public-source label.
- A price difference alone does not establish a “foreigner price”; any future claim needs supporting evidence.
- Current taxi benchmarks are public-source or visitor-reported figures, not rides metered by us. Any future fare we record ourselves will be labelled with the ride date and evidence.

The $ signs and per-person figures on every card, before we have paid the bill
Until a local has eaten or slept there, the price on a card is a listing figure, not our own bill. Here is exactly where it comes from.
- Restaurants — per person. The primary figure is the average spend shown on the Amap (高德地图) listing for the specific branch. Each card carries its own retrieval month; the latest matching listings were rechecked on 6 October 2026. This is a listing average, not a menu quote or our paid receipt. A price from another branch is not used. Where no listing exists we use a visitor-reported per-person figure with the month of the post. Dish prices, coffee prices and two-person packages remain separate. Where comparable per-person reports differ by more than 30%, the card shows a range.
- Hotels — per night. The "Average Price From" figure on the hotel's public Trip.com page, read on 2026-09-15, with the lowest advertised rate as from $xx. Visitor-reported rates are combined the same way as restaurants.
- Currency. Prices are shown in US dollars first, converted at USD 1 ≈ CNY 7.0 (rate as of Sep 2026), rounded to the dollar; the yuan figure in brackets is the listing value. Change the rate in one place and every page updates.
- Tiers. Restaurants: $ under $8 · $$ $8–20 · $$$ $20–40 · $$$$ over $40 per person. Hotels: $ under $50 · $$ $50–100 · $$$ $100–200 · $$$$ over $200 per night.
- Not reported. A card that says Price: not reported has no listing and no visitor figure; we do not guess. Meituan / Dianping pages are not scraped.
- After our visit the listing figure is replaced by what we actually paid, with the date, and the source label changes to paid by us.
How a listing stays true
- You report a change
Price up, closed, moved, halal status changed. Use the contact link at the bottom of every page or WhatsApp. Online comments are not open yet.
- A local goes to check
We visit or call in Chinese. No armchair verification.
- The listing is corrected within 7 days
Our commitment: checked and corrected within one week of your report. If a visit is not possible in that week the card is marked under review rather than left wrong.
- Popular places are revisited
Busy listings are re-checked periodically; the Last visited date on each page tells you how fresh it is.
Money never touches the rating
- Future visits will be paid by us. Current listings use credited public sources; no complimentary meals in exchange for coverage.
- Affiliate links (for example hotel booking links) may earn a commission and are marked. They do not change which hotels we recommend.
- Sponsored placements, if offered, are labelled Sponsored, sit outside the ranked lists, and carry no score.
- Business claims: owners can contact us with corrections to hours or menus. Self-service accounts and public owner replies are planned; owners cannot buy a halal tag.
Questions visitors ask
How do you verify halal status?
For the First-Timer:Each restaurant card shows one of four tiers — Amap halal category (a directory classification, not a certificate), Reported (two or more independent public posts call it halal), Cuisine-based · not verified (Middle Eastern, Turkish, Pakistani or Afghan kitchen, no certificate seen) or Not checked — with the basis written under the tag. After our visit the card adds what we actually did: certificate photographed, owner asked, menu checked, and the date.
For the Veteran:If you know a tag is out of date, report it; we re-check on site.
Do restaurants pay to be listed?
No. Listings and reviews are free and unpaid. Optional sponsored placements are labelled and never rated.
How often do you re-visit?
We have not visited these listings yet. Future in-person checks will have their own dates; current pages show public-source dates where available.
How fast do you correct errors?
Within 7 days of your report. A local visits or calls in Chinese, then the page is corrected; if that is not possible inside the week the card is marked under review.
What does ‘visitor-reported’ mean on a price or a taxi fare?
That the number comes from a public post by another visitor, with the month and year shown, and not from our own receipt or meter. We show it as a sanity check until we have paid the bill ourselves; then it becomes ‘what we paid’, with the date.





How comments are moderated
Online reader reviews, accounts and owner replies are not open yet. The guidelines describe how we plan to moderate them. You can currently send a correction through the contact page or WhatsApp. Full rules: Community Guidelines.